A Change in Perspective: From East to West

Hello and thank you for taking the time to read my very first blog post, ever!

Writing has always been a passion of mine, even though I hardly ever write. I never know where to begin or end. This very second I’m struggling with what to say and how to say it. However, all I know is that my passion for reading and writing is real, for reading is one of my favourite past times and my friends say I’m a great story teller.

Growing up in a very suburbanized area of London, Ontario creativity was never a big thing for most people. Creativity was never sought to make money, earn a decent living or put food on the table. What did put food on the table was hard work, conforming to the ordinary and achieving the stereotypical benchmarks laid out modern society. Most people follow the following steps: go to school; get a job; perhaps get more schooling through post-secondary education; get a better job; save money; find a suitable partner; buy a house together; have children; teach them the previous steps then eventually die happy and somewhat fulfilled.

To me that state of mind is existing but not living. It wasn’t until I moved out west that I truly felt what it was like to be alive. Here I felt what it is like to have the freedom of exploration, to be able to pack a bag and disappear into the wilderness for a few days at a time, to climb things, and to meet new people from all over the world.

I come from a place where the culture is non-existent. On top of that the cultures around me that I discovered were generally bad experiences due to racism within the communities. Outside of my little suburban bubble lived a plethora of cultures in the Canadian melting pot. However, invisible borders divided cultures. There was segregation and little education, leaving most children in my community ignorant to the many voices around them.

By taking this course, I hope to finally take the many ideas I’ve jotted down over the years and be able to articulate them properly on paper (or in this case online). The intersectionality of this course I hope will broaden my perspectives and hear those many voices that go unheard (often mine included).

A poor writer can have a great idea and make it sound awful and a great writer can take a poor idea and make it sound wonderful if they know what to say and when to say it!

 

Leave a Reply

